Click here to view the 2012 Finalists 

Click here to view the latest Neal Awards page.

The Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards, which have been called “the Pulitzer Prize of the business media,” are the industry’s most prestigious and sought-after editorial honors. Named after American Business Media’s first managing director, who remained active in promoting the business media throughout his life, the Neal Awards were established in 1955 to recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media publications. Past Neal winners and finalists have tackled controversial topics including corruption, kickbacks and political conflicts of interest.

The Neal Awards competition is open only to editorial staff of American Business Media member companies.
Awards are given to editors, not to publications.  Entries are scored on three criteria: service to the industry, editorial craftsmanship, and journalistic enterprise and innovation. Additionally, digital entries will be judged for ease of navigation; utility and freshness of content; appearance; services (e.g., archive search); and innovative offerings (e.g., multimedia, interactive features, etc.).

PLEASE NOTE: Most award categories are based on gross revenue classifications (combined print and online) to ensure resource parity.

Judging for the Neal Awards is organized in three tiers. The first-stage Screening Board is composed of more than 100 experienced business media editors. The highest-scoring entries are passed to the Stage II Screening Panel, which is made up of past and present members of the American Business Media Editorial Committee. The Stage II Screening Panel submits the top three entries per category for final judging. The Board of Judges, eight to 10 professionals knowledgeable in all aspects of business journalism, makes the final decisions. The award winner in each category/classification is chosen from three finalists, all of whom will be recognized for their Finalist status. The Grand Neal Award, the pinnacle of business-toᆳbusiness editorial achievement, is chosen from among the Neal winners in all 18 categories.


2011 Winners | 2011 Finalists | 2010 Winners |  Winners 2009 | Finalists 2009 Winners 2008Finalists 2008 | Winners 2007

For more information about the Jesse H. Neal Awards, contact Petrina Hicks at (212) 661-6360, ext. 3322 or